The Netherlands and the European Environment

The European Union presently comprises 15 member states, but talks are being held with at least another 13 potential members: ten from Central and Eastern Europe, as well as Cyprus, Malta and Turkey. In a number of cases these talks have become fullblown negotations about accession, with some countries possibly acceding to the EU as early as 2003. This enlargement is concentrating minds on the future decisionmaking structure within the EU. But the anticipated en largement is also giving rise to questions about the shaping of environmental policy in the European Union and leading to a rethink about the role of the Netherlands in all this.